Colleton County Fire-Rescue

General Information

Established in 1994, Fire-Rescue provides emergency services to an immense response area, covering 1132 square miles. The Department was formed on 01-January-1994, after the County Council abolished 16 volunteer fire districts to establish one Fire-Rescue agency (See Department History). Operating from 35 fire stations located in the beautiful South Carolina Lowcountry, the agency is rated as an ISO Class 3 Fire Department. The staff is comprised of 150 volunteer firefighters, supported by 81 cross-trained career personnel. Fire-Rescue operates a fleet of 129 vehicles including 36 engines, 34 tenders, 12 ambulances, 2 E-One 95 Platforms, 2 Heavy Rescues, 2 Hazardous Materials Units and 1 ARFF truck.

Services provided:

Through a progressive local government, Fire-Rescue has experienced tremendous growth since 2002. Coverage has been extended to many rural communities through the construction of 17 new fire stations. Suppression duties were assumed within three municipalities and countywide ALS / Paramedic Level Emergency Medical Transport (Ambulance) responsibility was assigned in March of 2004. All career staff members are cross-trained as Firefighter IIs and Emergency Medical Technicians (EMT, Advanced or Paramedic), an effort that significantly improved operations for the citizens.

Headquarters location:              

113 Mable T. Willis Blvd

Walterboro, SC 29488

Phone:                                    

(843) 539-1960

Fax:

(843) 539-1963

email:  

info@colletonfire.com

Fire Commissioners:

LaVern Polk

Chairman

S.G. Drew

Vice-Chairman

Jerry Breland

Clyde Capers

Doug Mixson

Chief

Barry McRoy

bmcroy@colletoncounty.org

Deputy Chief

Dr. David A. Greene

dgreene@colletoncounty.org

 Assistant Chief

Marty Stallings 

 

mstallings@colletoncounty.org

Battalion Chiefs

Scottie O'Quinn

A-shift

soquinn@colletoncounty.org

    (Operations)

Brent Dalton

B-shift

bdalton@colletoncounty.org 

Ben Heape 

C-shift

bheape@colletoncounty.org

Battalion Chief / Fire Training

Scott Feather 

Training

sfeather@colletoncounty.org

Battalion Chief / Medical Training

Joseph Campbell 

Training

jcampbell@colletoncounty.org

Battalion Chief / Fire Marshal

Richard Sheffield

Prevention

 rsheffield@colletoncounty.org
 Captain / Fire Marshal  Mikey Banks  Prevention  sbanks@colletoncounty.org

Fleet Management Director

Jack Wright

jwright@colletoncounty.org

  Back to Home